Type Size

    Dr. Eileen Bulger to Lead the ACS Committee on Trauma

    The American College of Surgeons Board of Regents has confirmed Eileen M. Bulger MD, FACS as the next Chair of the American College of Surgeons Committee of Trauma (ACS COT). Dr. Bulger serves as Professor of Surgery at the University of Washington and Chief of Trauma at Harborview Medical Center in Seattle. She has served on the ACS Committee on Trauma with distinction since 2003, working first in regional committees as the State Chair for Washington and then the as Region 10 Chief, before being appointed to the National COT in 2012. On the ACS COT Dr. Bulger has served as the Chair of the EMS Committee, the Chair of the Membership Committee and as a member of the Executive Committee for the past four years. She founded and spearheaded the very successful Future Trauma Leaders program of the COT aimed at giving young trauma surgeons mentorship, while also providing the ACS COT with an infusion of vital new ideas and energy.

    Dr. Bulger assumes the leadership of the ACS COT in March 2018, becoming the 20th Chair of the COT during its 96th year as an ACS Committee. Dr. Bulger is the first woman in this leadership role since the ACS launched the COT (then the Committee on Fractures) in 1922.

    Dr. Bulger succeeds Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS from San Antonio Texas: “We look forward to Dr. Bulger’s exceptional vision and leadership as she directs the COT into its 96th year of working to improve the care of the injured patient. She is the perfect person to lead the COT into its next century of transforming care and reducing injuries across the globe.” Please join us in welcoming and congratulating Dr. Eileen Bulger!


    Eileen M. Bulger, MD FACS with her mentors from left:  David B. Hoyt, MD FACS, Ronald V. Maier, MD FACS, Gregory J. Jurkovich, MD FACS