2ND ANNUAL AAST FALLEN SURGEONS MILITARY EDUCATIONAL SYMPOSIUM SEPTEMBER 10, 2024 S C H E D U L E

0700-0800: Registration 1200-1300: Keynote Speaker: General (ret) Peter W. Chiarelli 0800-0810: Welcome Moderator: Jennifer Gurney Presented by: COL Jennifer Gurney, Memorial: John Pryor, MD MLC Chair (Presenter: Jay Yelon) 0810-0830: Presentation of Colors: Nellis 1300-1345: Lunch Air Force Base Honor Guard 1345-1515: Fallen Comrade Table Region 13 COT Resident Paper Competition II Acknowledgment, Moderators: Lt Col Rachel Russo, Presented by Drs. Jennifer Gurney and Matthew Martin CAPT Matthew Bradley Memorial: Brian Allgood, MD 0830-0840: **Opening Remarks** (Presenter: Matthew Tadlock) Presented by: Patrick Reilly, MD, 1515-1530: Break President AAST 0840-1020: **Region 13 COT Resident** 1530-1700: Panel Session II: Paper Competition I Medical and Military Ethics at Moderators: Col Valerie Sams, COL the Crossroads (ret) Matthew Martin Panelists: Fredrick Lough, Director DoD Memorial: Gary Wratten, MD Medical Ethic Center (DMEC) (Presenter: John Holcomb) Joshua Girton, Deputy Director, DMEC Christine Bader, Senior Nurse Advisor, 1020-1030: Break DMEC COL (ret) Matthew Martin, Professor of 1030-1200: Panel Session I: Military Surgery, USC Unique Curriculum, Bridging CAPT Matthew Tadlock the gaps in Surgical Graduate Dr Megan Applewhite, Bioethicist Medical Education for the DMEC Expeditionary Surgeon Moderators: COL (ret) John Holcomb Panelists: Cpt Emily Baird, PGY-3 and CDR Jay Yelon University of Alabama, Birmingham Memorial: Maria Ortiz, RN & Dr. Dale Butler, Assistant Professor, UT Jennifer Moreno, RN Southwestern (Presenter: Matthew Martin) Dr. Fred Luchette, Professor of Surgery, 1700-1715: **AAST Always Remember** Loyola University Dr. Daniel Dent, Professor of Surgery, Fund: Overview and Call UT San Antonio for Donations

Dr. John Armstrong, Professor of Surgery,

Univ South Florida

Moderator: CDR Jay Yelon Memorial: Mark Taylor, MD

(Presenter: Jen Gurney)

1715-1730: Region 13 Trauma Paper Competition Results and Awards Moderators: Jennifer Gurney and Service COT Chairs

1730-1830: Cocktail Reception