Skip to main content
  • Committee Members

  • The main goal of the AAST Multi-Institutional Trials Committee (MIT) is to facilitate the design and execution of multi-center projects. In this capacity the AAST-MIT enables researchers to collaborate with other centers. Typically, these collaborations include investigator-initiated projects, often without federal or industrial funding. Institutions rely on own resources for participation. The AAST-MIT may help researchers identify suitable funding sources.

    The Multi-Institutional Trials Committee (MITC) has been hard at work evaluating some excellent new study proposals in both Trauma and Emergency General Surgery. Information on submitting new MIT proposals, including the proposal application form, can be found in the Research section of the AAST website under the “Initiating New Studies” link. The committee reviews all submitted proposals and provides important feedback to investigators regarding study design, feasibility, and data collection. Following approval, a customized Data Collection Tool for the study is built under the direction of the principal investigator that allows online data entry for participation. We encourage all AAST members to consider submitting an MIT proposal that addresses knowledge gaps in Trauma, Emergency General Surgery, and Surgical Critical Care. Please contact MITC Chair Dr. Todd Costantini (, or MITC Vice-Chair Dr. Jose Pascual (, with any questions.

    There are currently ten multi-institutional studies where patient enrollment is ongoing and open to new centers joining the study. Participating in one of these studies is an excellent way to get involved in the AAST—you’ll be contributing data to impactful research projects that will hopefully advance our field.

    Dr. Joe Dubose has been leading multiple efforts to collect prospective registry data on vascular injuries. The PROspective Observational Vascular Injury Trial (PROOVIT) captures trauma-specific data on the diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes after vascular injury. This data will continue to be important to define the optimal management of trauma patients with vascular injury and to provide long-term outcomes data that is lacking in the literature. Dr. Dubose also leads the Aortic Trauma Foundation Blunt Thoracic Aortic Injury Registry. The goal of this effort is to define optimal diagnosis, grading, treatment, and follow-up for patients with blunt thoracic aortic injury.

    Dr. Leslie Kobayashi is leading a prospective observational study of trauma patients receiving novel oral anticoagulants (NOACs). We have all experienced the recent surge in NOAC use, especially in elderly patients, and dealt with the challenges related to their coagulopathy. This project has been ongoing for several years and will be an important data source to define outcomes and reversal strategies in trauma patients on these agents.

    It’s not too late to join! Please contact the principal investigators directly to discuss contributing your data to these projects. More information on these studies, and all MITs, can be found in the Research section of the AAST website.



    • Todd Costantini (2016 - 2020)

    Vice Chair

    • Jose Pascual Lopez (2016 - 2020)


    • Ajai Malhotra (2016 - 2019)
    • Brandon Bruns (2017 - 2020)
    • Bryan Morse (2017 - 2020)
    • Dennis Ashley (2015 - 2018)
    • Grant Bochicchio (2017 - 2020)
    • Gregory Victorino (2016 - 2019)
    • Hasan Alam (2017 - 2020)
    • John Holcomb (2015 - 2018)
    • Joseph DuBose (2017 - 2020)
    • Juan Duchesne (2015 - 2018)
    • Kenji Inaba (2017 - 2020)
    • Lance Stuke (2017 - 2020)
    • Martin Zielinski (2015 - 2018)
    • Matthew Lissauer (2017 - 2020)
    • Michael Cripps (2017 - 2020)
    • Nathan Mowery (2016 - 2019)
    • Nicholas Namias (2015 - 2018)
    • Oscar Guillamondegui (2016 - 2019)
    • Scott Brakenridge (2017 - 2020)


    • Jason Sperry (2017 - 2020)
    • Raul Coimbra (2017 - 2020)

    WTA MIT Chair

    • Mitchell Cohen (2016 - 2020)

Privacy Policy:


By using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy and acknowledge the use of cookies to store information, which may be essential to making our site work properly or enhancing user experience.