• Disaster Committee

    Thanks to the efforts of our committee members, the AAST Disaster Committee has had a very productive year, with several initiatives that should be of value to the AAST membership and their trainees.


    Operation giving Back- AAST Disaster Surgery Initiative

    The AAST Disaster Committee has been working with Operation Giving Back (OGB), a program of the American College of Surgeons, to develop a platform to manage registries of individuals who may want to volunteer in different capacities including disaster response. Individuals may register as a volunteer for OGB and, if interested, also as part of the newly-formed disaster registry. The disaster registry is designed to help disseminate requests for surgical teams from various organizations responding to world-wide humanitarian disasters.

     To register for this disaster registry, please:

    1. Go to: https://www.facs.org/ogb/portal.
    2. Register as a volunteer and create a profile.
    3. Click submit.
    4. Open the disaster registry link and enter the additional information.
    5. Click submit. 

    If you have any questions, please email ogb@facs.org.


    AAST Disaster Surgery Modules

    The AAST Disaster Committee, in conjunction with the AAST Educational Committee, is developing a series of educational disaster surgery modules to better prepare surgeons responding to humanitarian disasters. Additionally, these modules should be valuable educational reference for surgical residents and acute care fellows. The first modules will be available free for members on the AAST website beginning in September, 2017. Modules include such topics as disaster surgical triage, blast and crush injuries, field amputations, improvised explosive devices, intraosseous infusion, altitude diseases and emergency C-section in disasters.


    AAOS/OTA/AAST/COT/ACS Initiative

    The AAST is a partner in a civilian-military initiative to coordinate disaster preparedness and response among the various trauma organizations. The goal of the initiative is to avoid redundancy among the various organizations and to disseminate current information about available disaster courses and other disaster-related activities.


    Committee Members


    • Jay Doucet (2016 - 2020)


    • David Shatz (2017 - 2020)


    • A. Tyler Putnam (2017 - 2020)
    • Adam Fox (2017 - 2019)
    • David Blake (2017 - 2020)
    • Eileen Bulger (2017 - 2020)
    • Eric Bradburn (2015 - 2018)
    • Eric Kuncir (2016 - 2019)
    • Gerd Pust (2017 - 2020)
    • Jeannette Capella (2017 - 2020)
    • Jeffrey Upperman (2017 - 2020)
    • John Harvin (2018 - 2020)
    • Joseph Amos (2016 - 2019)
    • Mark Gestring (2017 - 2020)
    • Marko Bukur (2015 - 2018)

    EAST Representative

    • Daniel Grabo (2016 - 2020)
    • Kyle Remick (2016 - 2020)