Skip to main content
  • Acute Care Surgery Committee

  • Under the continuing leadership of Dr. Clay Cothren Burlew, the Acute Care Surgery Committee has been extremely successful in recruiting Acute Care Surgery fellowship programs.  Over the last year, the ACS committee has approved 3 new fellowship programs and has reverified 9 fellowship programs.  We would like to welcome our new programs at University of Tennessee, Medical College of Wisconsin and University of California, San Diego.  The committee anticipates continued growth of Acute Care Surgery fellowship programs, with 6 additional sites in process of creating their fellowships and applying for approval.  The committee owes significant gratitude to the committee members who have taken the time to criss-cross the country and review programs, to ensure the best possible educational experience for upcoming fellows.

    Drs. Stephanie Savage and Joseph Galante continue to work on expanding the educational content via creation of new ACS modules.  Over the last year, the ACS committee has published 16 new modules, largely focused on Emergency General Surgery topics.  An additional 18 modules are nearing completion and will be uploaded for fellow review within the next year.  Upcoming educational focus will be on revisiting past modules to update content and in revamping modules to be more case-based and interactive for learners.  Drs. Nicole Stassen and Preston Miller continue to put significant work into the Acute Care Surgery in-training exam.  A large bank of new questions have been generated and continue to be edited.  Fellows now take the exam at the start and end of fellowship, to demonstrate learning trajectory and mastery.

    The Acute Care Surgery committee is excited to welcome our first class of Associate members of the AAST, four of whom are joining us in the upcoming year.  Together, the committee will start looking to the future as we develop projects to build the Acute Care Surgery curriculum and brand.   In doing so, we will continue the ongoing collaborations with SAGES, EAST and a variety of committees within the AAST.  We would like to thank all the past members of the ACS committee who have contributed their time and expertise to our profession.  We would like to thank our current members for their ongoing dedication and many thanks to Sharon Gautschy and Bridget Lindbloom for their tireless support and guidance.  The ACS committee anticipates another productive year.

    Stephanie Savage, MD
    Vice-Chair, Acute Care Surgery Committee

    Clay Cothren Burlew, MD
    Chair, Acute Care Surgery Committee

    Cutting Edge Articles:

Privacy Policy:


By using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy and acknowledge the use of cookies to store information, which may be essential to making our site work properly or enhancing user experience.