• Multi-Institutional Studies

    The Multi-Institutional Trails Committee is soliciting participation in recently approved studies. Each study is presented with its protocol and data collection sheet. Direct communication with he study PI or the Committee Chairperson is strongly encouraged before participation. The AAST-MIT is looking forward to your enthusiastic support and participation in these and future studies. 

    Please read the instructions for the AAST MIT Site below. The request form to access the MIT site is below. Please send request forms to aast@aast.org.


    Instructions

    Access Request Form

     

  • Current Studies

     

    Primary Investigator

    Kimberly A. Davis, M.D., M.B.A.
    Yale New Haven Hospital

    Yale University, Department of Surgery
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520
               


    Primary Investigator

    Juan Duchesne, MD, FACS, FCCP, FCCM
    Section Chief Trauma & Critical Care, Tulane University School of Medicine 
    TICU Medical Director
    University Medical Center, Norman E. McSwain Jr MD Spirit of Charity
    New Orleans, Louisiana 70112
    jduchesn@tulane.edu

     

    Co-Principal Investigators:

    Danielle Tatum, Ph.D.
    Trauma Research Director, Our Lady of the Lake RMC
    Assistant Professor, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center 
    Danielle.Tatum@fmolhs.org

    Nicholas Namias, MD, MBA, FACS, FCCM
    Robert Zeppa Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology
    Chief, Division of Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, and Acute Care Surgery
    Daughtry Department Family of Surgery, Miller School of Medicine, University of Miami, and
    Jackson Memorial Hospital, Ryder Trauma Center, Miami, FL
    nnamias@miami.edu

    Jonathan P. Meizoso, MD, MSPH
    General Surgery Resident 
    Jackson Memorial Hospital, Miami, FL
    jpmeizoso@med.miami.edu

    Kareem Ibraheem, MD
    Research Fellow
    Trauma & Critical Care, Tulane University School of Medicine
    kibraheem@tulane.edu

     


    Description

    To establish an aggregate database of information on baseline clinical and demographic characteristics, medication use, markers of frailty, injury characteristics, management strategies, and outcomes following TBI in geriatric patients.

    Primary Investigator

    Karen J. Brasel, MD, MPH
    Oregon Health and Science Center

    Description

                         

    Primary Investigator

    Rebecca Schroll, MD
    Tulane University School of Medicine

    rschroll@tulane.edu


    Description

                               

    Primary Investigator

    Jennifer Mooney, MD, FACS
    Baylor University Medical Center

    jlmooney80@gmail.com

    Attn: Trauma Services
    3409 Worth St. Suite C2.500
    Dallas, TX 75246


    Description

                      

    Primary Investigator

    Bellal Joseph
    University of Arizona

    bjoseph@surgery.arizona.edu


    Primary Investigator

    Principal Investigator: 

    Jeremy B. Myers, MD, FACS
    Genitourinary Injury and Reconstructive Urology
    University of Utah Department of Surgery
    Pager: (801)-339-0902
    Phone: (801)-213-2702
    Fax: (810)-585-2891
    reconstructiveurology.UofUhealth.org


    Primary Investigator

    Investigators

    Joseph J. DuBose, MD, FACS, FCCM, RPVI

    University of Texas – Houston

    Department of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery Division of Vascular Surgery Division of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery

     

     

    Ali Azizzadeh, MD FACS

    Professor of Surgery

    Division Chief – Vascular Surgery

    Department of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery Division of Vascular Surgery Division of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery


    Primary Investigator

    PI:
     Elizabeth Benjamin MD PhD FACS
     LAC+USC Medical Center
     2051 Marengo Street
     IPT C5L-100
    Los Angeles, CA 90033
    323-409-8604
    Elizabeth.Benjamin@med.usc.edu

    Co-PI:
    Demtrios Demetriades MD PhD FACS
    LAC+USC Medical Center
    2051 Marengo Street
     IPT C5L-100
    Los Angeles, CA 90033
    323-409-7761
    Demetrios.Demetriades@med.usc.edu

    Co-PI:
    Joseph Dubose MD FACS
    Assistant Professor of Surgery
    Joseph.J.DuBose@uth.tmc.edu


    Primary Investigator

    Principal Investigator

    Raminder Nirula
    Department of Surgery
     University of Utah Health Sciences Center
     50 North Medical Drive
     Salt Lake City, Utah 84132
     801-581-7304
     r.nirula@hsc.utah.edu
     

    Co-Investigator(s)
     Lara Senekjian
     Surgical Resident
    lara.senekjian@hsc.utah.edu